Friday, October 17, 2008

City to get 3 new underground sewer lines |ENS

City to get 3 new underground sewer lines
The Central Sanctioning and Monitoring Committee has approved three new underground sewerage projects for the city under the Jawaharlal Nehru National Urban Renewal Mission (JNNURM). The new projects, to be implemented by the Bangalore Water supply and Sewerage Board (BWSSB) are planned at Dasarahalli, K R Puram and Mahadevpura.

The total project cost for all the three projects is Rs 334.64 crore, of which, Rs 117.12 crore would be Central assistance under the JNNURM and the remaining funds would be provided by the state government from World Bank assistance.

The existing sewerage system in these three areas is 70 km long. The BWSSB has proposed to lay 1,097 km of new drainage lines in all the three areas put together.

The BWSSB had sought the JNNURM’s assistance to undertake underground sewerage projects in all the seven city municipality and one town municipality area that were merged with the city to form Bruhat Bangalore Mahanagara Palike (BBMP).

The Centre has already sanctioned Rs 199.76 crore for underground sewerage projects in Kengeri, Rajarajeshwari Nagara, Yelahanka, and Byatarayanpura under the JNNRM. “Approval for a plant at Bommanahalli is pending before the Central Sanctioning and Monitoring Committee.

A detailed project report of the Bommanahalli project is being prepared by the BWSSB. If this project is sanctioned, the entire BBMP area would be provided with underground sewerage facilities”, sources in BWSSB informed The Express.

The sanctioned sewerage projects would be completed by December 2011.

No comments: